Consider us your personal career GPS.
Interested in becoming a CPA? Starting out in an accounting career can be daunting, but we’re here to help you take the first steps. From networking events to scholarships — LCPA has all the resources you need to get started. And if you can't find what you're looking for, just give us a call.
If you want to know where you can go to study accounting check out this list of accredited institutions in Louisiana.
Need more direction?
There’s always more to learn. We’ve made finding it a little easier:
Learn more about exam requirements, scholarships, and get advice from other CPAs.
Going for Your CPA
LCPA knows navigating the path to become a CPA isn't easy, and we want you to have all the information you need to make the best decisions about your career. Taking and passing the CPA Exam requires time, effort, and dedication. But success is well within reach for well-prepared exam candidates.
In Louisiana, candidates must have 150 hours in certain accounting and business courses.
- Bachelor’s Degree from an accredited, 4-year university; 24 hours of specific accounting courses and 24 hours of business courses
- Hours from a community college must be transfered to a 4-year school.
- AP credit hours recognized by 4-year universities count.
- Some online credit hours may count.
- Duplicate courses/credits hours are not allowed.
- All credit hours are subject to final approval by the Louisiana State Board of CPAs.
After obtaining the required education, a Louisiana candidate must successfully pass the CPA exam and complete any remaining education hours five years after passing the exam.
There are four parts: Auditing & Attestation (AUD), Financial Accounting & Reporting (FAR), Regulation (REG), and Business Environments & Concepts (BEC). Review the Uniform CPA Examination Candidate Bulletin for more information about the exam content and the examination process.
LCPA members qualify for discounts on major CPA exam prep providers.
To obtain a CPA license, Louisiana candidates must have at least 12 months of qualifying experience verified by a licensed CPA.
The experience required must involve the use of accounting, attest, management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills.
Experience may be from employment in public practice, private industry, non-profit, or government and must be at least 12 months of full-time or 2,000 hours part-time experience.
The last step in becoming a licensed CPA is to send your application to the Louisiana State Board of CPAs.
- Requirements for issuance of a certificate include:
- Successfully complete the Uniform CPA examination
- Be of good moral character
- Be 18 years of age or more
- Satisfy the one year experience requirement as verified by a licensed CPA in a position to know
- Submit the application form required by the Board
- Pay the certificate application fee of $100
- Execute an oath prescribed by the Board
Find more details at cpaboard.state.la.us.