News & Tax Alerts: Tax Alerts – State

All Employers Now Must E-File Wage Reports and Taxes

Monday, March 17, 2014   (0 Comments)


E-filing wage and tax reports for unemployment insurance is no longer just an option in Louisiana, it’s the law.

Quarterly wage reports, amendment forms, new employer registrations and employer reports of account changes must be e-filed with the Louisiana Workforce Commission.

Paper forms and reports will no longer be accepted, and are no longer available for download on our website.

R.S. 23:1531.1, which was amended in 2008, requires all employers to e-file unemployment insurance wage reports and taxes after Jan. 31, 2014. So far, 90 percent of employers have switched to e-filing.

E-filing provides important benefits: it reduces errors, saves money and shortens the time needed to pay unemployment benefits claims.E-filing features include:

  • Secure filing any time from any internet-connected computer or tablet
  • Automatic calculation of wages in excess of the $7,700 taxable wage base
  • Automatic calculation of taxes due, which will save you time and reduce errors
  • An electronic payment option means tax payments will post faster
  • The ability to view, amend, and print reports

If you’re one of the 10,000 Louisiana employers who’ve yet to make the switch, time is running out, and LWC staff is standing by ready to assist you.

To get started: visit and click "File Wages and Taxes.”

If you have a computer but are having trouble filing: Call 225-342-0210 or 225-326-6999 for assistance.

If you do not have access to a computer: You may use a computer at your local public library, or at any Louisiana Workforce Commission office or Business and Career Solutions Center.

You can also schedule an in-person visit in your place of business or home.

Wage reports and taxes for the current quarter must be e-filed no later than April 30, 2014. Quarterly wage reports are due electronically by the last day of the month that follows the end of each calendar quarter: Jan. 31, April 30, July 31, and Oct. 31.

PENALTIES: Tax payments and wage reports that do not comply with Louisiana Employment Security law will be returned. The Louisiana Workforce Commission is required by law to assess penalties for non-compliant, late, inaccurate or incomplete filings.

WAIVERS: In certain rare instances, employers may obtain a waiver from e-filing.Waiver requests will be carefully considered and granted only for the most extreme hardship circumstances.Written waiver requests must be received by March 31, 2014, and should be directed to J. Ricky Masaracchia, Chief of Tax, Louisiana Workforce Commission, P.O. Box 94186, Baton Rouge, LA70804.