News & Tax Alerts: Tax Alerts – State

Certain Louisiana Parishes Included in Disaster Area Designation (3/7/2013)

Thursday, March 7, 2013   (0 Comments)
The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has announced that the President on February 22, 2013, determined that certain areas in Louisiana are eligible for assistance from the federal government under the Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (42 USC 5121) as a result of severe storms and flooding during the period of January 8-17, 2013 (FEMA-4102-DR). Accordingly, taxpayers in the following parishes who sustained losses attributable to the disaster may deduct the losses on their 2012 federal income tax returns: Acadia, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, Evangeline, Franklin, Jefferson Davis, Livingston, Madison, St. Landry and Vermilion.